Welcome to 7th Grade!!!!


I am looking forward to a wonderful year.

Attached you will find instructions for the summer reading project.  This is due 8/31/15

Summer Reading Project attachment

Figurative Language reference sheet

Outsiders Chapter 1-3

Outsiders Chapter 4

Outsiders Chapt 5-8 Study Guide

Wordly Wise 4

Wordly Wise 6 Periods 2,3,4,5






Monday 4/4/16


Grammar: Comma with dates and addresses

The Untold Story of John Smith and Pocahontas Close read 

Answer questions


Tuesday 4/5/16

COMMA QUIZ!!!!!!!

General History of Virginia pages 21-29


Wednesday 4/6/16

USA test prep listening activities

Hercules and the Cattle of Geryon Play

Read in Groups and answer questions


Thursday 4/7/16

USA test prep listening activities

Read The online Brain and answer questions


Friday 4/8/16

USA test prep listening activities

USA test prep chromebooks


Monday 3/28/16

Grammar:  comma's in a series

Close Read: Legend of the Cedar Tree


Tuesday 3/29/16

Grammar: Comma with Coordinate Adjectives

Close Read: Kits At Work & Rocks in My Pocket


Wednesday 3/30/16

Grammar:  Comma in a compound sentence

Continue Close Read from Tuesday


Thursday 3/31/16

Grammar: Comma's with introductory words

Close Read Poem: The Song of Wandering Aengus


Friday 4/1/16

Grammar: Comma's with non-essential words/ Appositives

USA test Prep 



Monday 3/1/16

FSA writes

Tuesday 3/2/16

Dangling Modifiers powerpoint


Wednesday 3/3/16

HMH Collection 1 practice

Dangling Modifiers practice


Thursday 3/4/16

HMH Collection 1 practice

Dangling Modifiers practice

Friday 3/5/16

Dangling Modifiers practice

HMH Collection 1 practice




Monday 2/1/16

Grammar Practice Compound Sentences

Exemplar Papers review together on the Dust Bowl essay


Tuesday 2/2/16

Grammar Practice Compound Sentences creating

What makes great elaboration?

Rewrite sentences elaborating on evidence


Wednesday 2/3/16

Grammar Compound-Complex Sentences

Close Read

Video Game vs. Health

Begin Graphic Organizer


Thursday 2/4/16

Grammar Compound-Complex Sentences

Begin Writing Essay focusing on elaboration of ideas


Friday 2/5/16

Grammar Quiz

Complete essay and edit for improvements


Monday 1-25-16

Grammar practice - sentence vs. fragments - identify

Expository Essay Burmese Python discuss 3 reasons How the Presence of Burmese Pythons is changing the Everglades

Graphic Organizer

Burmese Python articles


Tuesday 1-26-16

Grammar Sentence vs. fragment practice

Complete Essay


 Wednesday 1-27-16

sentence vs. fragment and independent vs. dependent clause chromebooks

Effects of the Dust Bowl essay review together in class


Thursday 1-28-16

Grammar Independent Clause vs. Dependent Clause

Continue review and modeling of Dust Bowl essay


Friday 1-29-16

Grammar Quiz Chrome Cart dependent clause vs. independent clause and sentence vs. fragments

Graphic Organizer Quiz

Complete Dust Bowl Essay

Begin Machu Picchu Close Read.



 

Wednesday 1-27-16

Sentence vs. fragment independent vs. dependent clause Chrome Cart


Monday November 2, 2015

Vocab

Monday October 26, 2015

Vocabulary Quiz

Women in Aviation Close Read and Guiding Questions


Tuesday October 27, 2015

Women in Aviation Quiz 

Tell Tale Heart Close Read and narrative mountain


Wednesday October 28, 2015

Finish Tell Tale Heart Close Read and Narrative Mountain

Homework: Complete Narrative Mountain


Thursday October 29, 2015

Tell Tale Heart Movie

Work on Narrative Mountain


Friday October 30, 2014

Professional Day!!  No School!!!!



Monday October 5, 2015

Chapter 5-8 Outsiders Review

Complete Close Read of Should We Celebrate Columbus Day

Homework: Periods 2,3,4,5 Worldy Wise 4A-4B/ Periods 6 and 7 Worldy Wise 2A-2B


Tuesday October 6, 2015

Graphic Organizer Should We Celebrate Columbus Day

Review For Outsiders test Wednesday

Homework: Periods 2,3,4,5 Wordly Wise 4c-4d/ Periods 6 and 7 Wordly Wise 2C-2d


Wednesday October 7, 2015

Outsiders Test Chapters 5-8

Begin finding evidence to support your claim

Homework: Periods 2,3,4,5 Wordly WIse 4e BOLD WORDS ONLY/ Periods 6 and 7 Wordly Wise 2E BOLD WORDS ONLY


Thursday October 7, 2015

Graphic organizer elaborations/ why are they important?

Homework: Periods 2,3,4,5 Wordly Wise Remainder of 4e/ Periods 6 and 7 Wordly Wise  Remainder of 2E


Friday October 8, 2015

Vocabulary packet due

Vocabulary quiz

Create first "draft" of argumentative essay

Homework: vocab definitions and read chapters 9-10 with study guide of the Outsiders









Homework:

Read Chapter 2 The Outsiders

Wordly Wise 2c-2d


Wednesday September 23, 2015

Create Graphic Organizers for Civics Project

Homework:

Read Chapter 3 The Outsiders

Wordly Wise 2E Bold Words only


Thursday September 24, 2015

FAIR TESTING!!!!!!

Review Chapters 2-3 Outsiders

Homework: Wordly Wise 2E


Friday September 25, 2015

Bibliography and decorate boxes

Take Home vocabulary Test

Homework Definitions: Vocabulary Week 3

Vocabulary Week 3:



Monday September 14, 2015

Wordly WIse Week 1

Mississippi Solo

Discuss personification/memoir


Homework:

Wordy Wise 1A-1B


Tuesday September 15, 2015

Continue Mississippi Solo

Page 137

Homework Wordly WIse 1C-1D


Wednesday September 16, 2015

Mississippi Solo Assessment

Homework Wordly Wise 1E #1-6 only


Thursday September 17, 2015

Introduce The Outsiders

Discuss What it means to be an outsider and connotative language used in book

Homework Worldy Wise 1E 7-15

Read Chapters 1-2 Outsiders


Friday September 18, 2015

Wordly WIse Quiz 1

Discuss Chapters 1-2 and characterization 

Homework: Read Chapter 3-4 Outsiders

Introduce Hero's Project



August 31, 2015

Summer Reading Project Due Today!!!!!!

1st Writing Assessment

Close Read Articles and Bring Journals to Schools


September 1, 2015

Create Graphic Organizer for Writing Prompt

Assign 9-11 Project


September 2, 2015

Begin Writing Essay

Conference


September 3, 2015

Revise and conference essay


September 4, 2015

Quiz on simple, complex, compound sentences



August 24, 2015

Welcome Back

DIscuss:

1. Tracking Cards

2. Agenda

Homework: Read Syllabus with parent/have them sign


August 25, 2015

Close Read Syllabus

Pre-test Unit 1


August 26, 2015

Completion of Unit 1 pretest


August 27, 2015

Happy Birthday Mrs. Tollar

Set up binders


August 28, 2015

Review Unit 1 pretest

Complete The House










jojjojWordleyi

















;jjkihio